SimHaven

Hi, Welcome to Simhaven the Friendly Worldwide Forum for Flight Simulation
If you are a member please log in here,

if you wish to be a member please use the Register button

This International Haven is for Enthusiasts of Flight Simulation, Especially those interested in creating their own scenery, or Aircraft Re-paints who are looking for a friendly, Informative clubhouse atmosphere.

Making a new airfield for FSX flight simulator Part 1 of 2

G-GMDH

Post by G-GMDH on Fri Jun 17, 2016 2:02 pm

Let me first point out that I am not an expert in making airfields and the very limited knowledge that I do have has come from trial and error, burning the mid-night oil and drinking lots of tea, very British.

No I didn't RTFM.

Thank you to all of those hard working people who have given us the FREE software and web sites listed below.

This is the way I do it, there may be other ways, please read on....

What you will need in the way of software and web sites...

1. FS Earth Tiles (I also use this to make photo real scenery) If you need a working copy PM with your email.

2. Airport Design Editor, ADE 165 you can download this from here....      http://www.scruffyduck.org/downloads/4584110854

3. Altitude calculator using this web site.......           http://www.altitude.nu/

4. Decimal converter for Lat and Long using this web site.....       https://www.fcc.gov/media/radio/dms-decimal

Before you use the Airport Design Editor ADE 165 you need the following.....

1. A satellite image of your proposed airfield.

2. The Lat and Long of the centre of the airfield and the top left hand corner (NW) and bottom right hand corner (SE) of the satellite  image.

3. The altitude of the airfield.

So lets start with getting the satellite image. You will need to be connected to the internet.

Open up FS Earth Tiles.

Using the zoom button over on the right hand side click out to 12.